The rank of Black Belt is the culmination of years of hard work and dedication. While Black Belt has some new techniques and requirements, it is in many ways simply the test of all previous levels at higher stress and greater degree of difficulty. There’s a popular saying among Krav Maga practitioners: “You never forget your Yellow Belt test or your Black Belt test.” The Yellow Belt test is the first test, and beginners are surprised at how physically and emotionally demanding it is. The subsequent tests are all hard, but by the time they come around you know what to expect. Then the Black Belt tests push you to a higher level. You learn more about yourself and your ability to perform under stress. The experience is powerful and enlightening.

 We also hope it is motivating, because we don’t want Black Belt to be the end of your journey. It should simply be the next step. I recall receiving my Black Belt and thinking, “Okay, now I have to earn this.” I’d just gone through a grueling test, but my only thought was that now I had to live up to a new standard. Black Belts should be examples. They should train harder, train smarter, and live better. Even if a Black Belt is not an instructor, he is still an example and an inspiration to those who are training with him, and he should help to show them the way.


Blue Belt (Level 4)

Students at this level should have basic working knowledge of weapons defense This includes a strong understanding of the R.C.A.T. Principle of Weapon Defense: Redirect / Stop the Attack, Control the Weapon or the Arm, ATTACK with Determination, Take Away or Disarm if needed.

 Brown Belt (Level 5)

Brown Belt students should have more advanced knowledge of handgun, long gun, knife and blunt object operation, including standing, confined spaces, retention habits of the attacker, as well as on the ground. The R.C.A.T. principles MUST be solid.

 Black Belt (Level 6 And Up)

Krav Maga Black Belts should have more advanced working knowledge of weapons and tactics, including how to use them properly in an offensive manner after disarming. Proper retention and ability to improvise through problems within the R.C.A.T. principles.  This level of training also includes 3rd party defense and drills in close quarters as you would see in an active killer situation.

Level 6 Mindset and Tactics

Level 6 represents an advanced stage of training in East Texas Krav Maga, where the scenarios become more complex and the stakes higher. The mindset and tactics involved are about taking control of any situation and developing a comprehensive understanding of self-defense.


The mindset for Level 6 involves 'I Am the WEAPON' and '3rd Party Protection.'

I Am the WEAPON: At this stage, you should fully understand and embody the idea that you, yourself, are the weapon. This means knowing that your body and mind are the most important tools in any confrontation and that any physical objects you use are merely extensions of your own abilities.

3rd Party Protection: This mindset broadens your focus from defending yourself to protecting others as well. It involves learning to prioritize safety for all innocent parties involved and understanding how to make decisions that take others' safety into account.


The tactics at Level 6 focus on 'RCAT with 3rd Party' and 'Using Weapons Offensively.'

RCAT with 3rd Party: Building upon the RCAT system (Redirect, Control, Attack, Take Away) you learned earlier, Level 6 integrates the principles of 3rd party protection. This means learning to apply the RCAT system while also protecting others, which involves higher levels of coordination, decision-making, and situational awareness.

Using Weapons Offensively: At Level 6, you learn to use weapons not just defensively, but offensively as well. This tactic expands your combat options, allowing you to maximize your advantage and control over the situation.

Why are They Important to This Level and Beyond?

The mindset of 'I Am the WEAPON' and '3rd Party Protection' is vital for advanced Krav Maga practitioners. It encourages a sense of personal empowerment and responsibility, which are crucial in serious self-defense situations. This mindset will continue to guide your decisions and actions as you progress further in your training.

The tactics introduced at Level 6 significantly expand your combat skills. Learning to integrate 3rd party protection with the RCAT system and using weapons offensively offer you greater control and flexibility in a wide range of scenarios. These advanced tactics are essential for mastering Krav Maga and preparing you for real-world confrontations.